Salting the Cabbage

Tonight I made coleslaw to go on our chicken barbecue sandwiches. I love the process of cabbage. Coring and slicing the polished leaves is like cutting a giant onion that doesn’t make you cry. I sprinkle about two tablespoons of course salt over the cabbage and rub it until it “cooks” down. The cold leaves make my hands silky and icy. After I put it in the colander to drain, it sizzles and spits, like some sort of mad science experiment in my sink. The power of salt! Rub some cabbage or cucumber in course salt, and you can create magic.

saltingCabbage

4 thoughts on “Salting the Cabbage

  1. I believe fermenting is still considered raw by the diehard raw foodies, but I’ve never fermented anything myself. I’m crazy about sauerkraut and I’d love to make my own!

Leave a Reply

