A Late Start in the Garden

When I went back in to take pictures, after I closed up the hoop house, hopefully to prevent the neighbor cat from using it as his personal giant litter box, a wall of heat fell on me. It is March 5th and it is summer in my hoop house.

I was supposed to plant in there about three weeks ago. Around Valentine’s Day. I am not especially worried. I have until Mother’s Day to see if any of my seeds, I direct sowed, will take. And if the don’t, I will buy starts from the nursery. This year I planted Hopi Red Dye, Indian Corn, Sunflowers, cherry tomatoes, paste tomatoes, peas, beets, carrots, huckleberries, a cantaloupe, and a watermelon. For my herbs I have chives, tarragon, cilantro, and basil. A surprising thing happened when I went in to tend the garden the other day, my kale and Brussels sprouts came back. My onions and lavender were already intended to stay and grow again. I am going to grow my chives in a hanging basket by my back door, and grow more Hopi Red Dye in containers by my front door. I am wiped out and it is only noon! So here are some pretty photos of my work from this morning:

DSC_1908 DSC_1915 DSC_1921 DSC_1927 DSC_1933 DSC_1940 DSC_1943 DSC_1944

Leave a Reply

