A Quilt for My Neighbor

It is life’s greatest luck to find yourself with good neighbors. My sweet neighbor, Dee, has been a great neighbor. She is one of the sweetest most sincere women I have ever known. She has two boys and is pregnant with a baby girl. I wanted to give her something special to congratulate her, and when I got a great sale on some blue fabric with white flowers I knew I wanted to make it into a blanket for her. Recently I have been massively interested in quilting and after Christmas, where my mother in law gifted me my own mat and rotary cutter, I have been wanting to do some piecing. So I just went for it. I chose to do an Irish Chain, turn the quilt, and tie it. The whole time I was making it I was just hoping that they will like it. It turned out so much larger than I intended and I have a ton of leftover squares, but I made it thin so wrapping the baby in it won’t be so bulky, or she can use it for a ground quilt for the baby to practice tummy time, or even use it as wall decoration. Or throw it away. Whatever she wants. I enjoyed making it, and the practice will help tremendously when making more quilts in the future. And I will know that no matter how quickly I think it will take me, to times that number by ten.

norasQuiltSquares norasQuilt norasQuilt (4) norasQuilt (5) norasQuilt (6) norasQuilt (7) norasQuilt (8) norasQuilt (9) norasQuilt (12)

 

One thought on “A Quilt for My Neighbor

Leave a Reply

